Cajun, Creole, Carazy.

20 07 2009

s-YATS-largeThe stage was set. It was Taste Casting round two and  The Trendy Minds crew rounded up another rag-tag group of aspiring foodies to feast at Yats on College Ave. in Indy.  As a substitute for my failed UStream attempt, WISHTV was there to document our adventure. 

This is my take on the event.

 

 

The Food

Yats is the kind of food you find yourself sneaking bites of a couple minutes after telling yourself you are completely full. The kind of food you put in a to-go box, but manages to escape its little styrofoam prison before you even get home.  It’s loosen your belt, hibernate in your easy chair for over an hour good. yat

This cajun-creole joint is full of soul, and it’s sauteed, cooked, stewed, and etouffee-d into every single morsel. From the chili cheese etouffee with crawfish to the vegan white chili with tofu, the cuisine gives an essence of food cooked with the love of a mother, and the precision of a surgeon.

Every plate comes with the perfect sidekick:  seasoned, buttery bread.  

Let’s just say the crusty, buttery bread is to the meal as the Pips are to Gladys Knight.

The Joint

Yats wouldn’t be Yats if it weren’t housed in such a funky little place. With spices, hot sauces, beads, and musical instruments lining the walls you know you’re in for a treat as soon as you walk in.

There’s a couple of hippies running the front counter. They’re hilarious.

In a faux French accent, one of the guys told me his favorite thing about Yats was his coworker, who was awkwardly standing next to him.  He waved and said hello.

The Guy

joe v

Joe Vuskovich, owner of Yats

Joe is Yats. His place, his bayou inspired food. He’s a Louisiana expat, and you can tell from the way he prepares the food, to the way the place is decorated.

He wears these huge, goggle-like glasses with Mr. Magoo lenses that only look cool on a guy like Joe. You can tell he loves what he does and cares about the people who enjoy his stuff. It shows every time he hand delivers a meal to a waiting customer. 

He’s good at what he does, and he is passionate, humble and cool while doing it.

The Take

If you can go to Yats, go.

It’s relatively inexpensive, and you get tons of food.

I’ve lived down the street from Yats for the past four years, so I have had my fair share- probably the whole (rotating) menu.  Simply put, it’s all good.  Get the half and half chili cheese etouffee with crawfish and the italiano, if they’re serving it, and extra bread.

ADVICE: Save at least one piece of bread soaking in whatever you got until the end of the meal.  You will thank me.

I have been to Louisiana a couple times over the years, and can safely say it’s one of my favorite places in the states. Anyone who has gone knows there is a particular feeling you get from walking the streets of the french quarter, grabbing a po-boy and jambalaya, and listening to the sounds of Big Easy Jazz. 

It seems as though Joe has bottled this very feeling, and injected it into Yats.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 07 2009
Magen

I agree completely. I’m a foodie. When its good, its good and I eat it a lot and tell everyone I know about it. The guys at Yats know this about me. Whether of around home on the southdode or near work downtown, I get Yats every chance I get! I’m always bringing new friends to try it and everyone always appreciates the genuine good natured people you encounter there. Like a little taste of home! Great post!

20 07 2009
evanstrange

Thanks Magen.

When my friends/fam come to Indy, Yats is definitely one of the first places I try to go.

I think the reason why they’re so successful- aside from the food and personality- is the fact that there are no places like it, at least from what I’ve found.

Glad you liked it!

Tell me what you think...

