Farewell, Indianapolis.

17 09 2012

The time has come…

The time has come for me to say goodbye – for now – to the wonderful city of Indianapolis and many of its incredibly awesome inhabitants who I’ve had the honor to call my friends.

Yes friends, I am leaving Indy.

Six years ago I was a budding college freshman from Evansville who had plans of taking over the world, and after a four year collegiate pit stop in Indianapolis, I planned to get the heck out of Dodge to do just that.

But it was during those four years, and two after, that Indy became more than just a place for me to go to college. It became my life, my passion and my home.

Heck, I even got an amazing job that paid me to convince people to visit Indy.

The past two years have been especially amazing. I’ve not only gained amazing professional experiences that will no doubt propel my career, but I’ve also had the opportunity to meet so many great people that make Indy an incredible place to live.

While I would absolutely love to stay in the Circle City for many consecutive years to come, an opportunity in the tourism industry came along that I couldn’t pass up.

After two years working as Visit Indy’s Marketing & Communications Coordinator, I have accepted a job to be the Marketing Manager at the Austin Convention & Visitors Bureau. With this great position and responsibility, I have another unique opportunity to promote another city that I have come to know and love.

It’s of course sad to leave the life I have built in the only state I have ever lived in for 24 years, but  I am so unbelievably excited to start the cliche “new chapter” in life. I also feel extremely lucky in today’s day and age to have the opportunity to go from one amazing employer to another.

So with this announcement, I just want to say thanks.

Thank you to the city. Thank you to Visit Indy for being such an important part of my life (and for being one hell of an employer).

But most importantly, thank you to every person and friend I’ve met in the last six years – from mentors and colleagues to chefs and tap room beer pourers – you will be the hardest thing to leave.

Now I have two more weeks before I pick up and move to Austin, Texas.

So if you’re one of the people that took time to read this and feel so inclined, call me, text me, leave a comment or whatever you have to do, and I hope to see or talk to you personally before I head south.

But for now I say farewell, Indianapolis and in the words of the great Indianapolitan Kurt Vonnegut:

All my jokes are Indianapolis. All my attitudes are Indianapolis…If I ever severed myself from Indianapolis, I would be out of business. What people like about me is Indianapolis.”

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 09 2012
Tania (@westlifebunny)

As someone who was fortunate enough to meet you and a few of the other Visit Indy staffers on a recent trip of mine (which was due in fact to all your hard work and convincing), Evan I wish you continued success in your life. I spent a week in Indy and it was hard to tear me away, so I can’t imagine how you must be feeling to leave this lovely city you’ve called home for so long. However, I am confident you will excel in your next chapter because you showcase great heart and dedication. You will do a great job with a new audience and new city. Congratulations, Evan and best of luck!

20 09 2012
Thequeenoffree (@Thequeenoffree)

Rock Star. Awesome news for you, bummer for the rest of us. But best wishes and good luck in your new journey.

21 09 2012
Sara Croft (@saraelysecroft)

You are going to make awesome things happen for Austin! So glad I was able to meet you, work with you, and go up in a hot air balloon with you (something I would have never done without your convincing). Can’t wait to hear about your new journeys!

Tell me what you think...

